Day 2: The Night Eater

Day 2 almost done! I had another 6am gym sesh this morning and I love it! I love getting my workout in early and not having to think about it the rest of the day. I feel like when I plan on a later gym time, I spend more time thinking about it, maybe dreading it and making excuses for skipping.

Hubby came with me this morning and we met with my brother’s GF. Usually, my sister will be there too but she slept in. It’s awesome having people to go with, even so early in the morning! It makes it harder for me to make excuses to skip when I know others are going. And it’s more fun working out with friends, obviously.

Oh, did I mention that our main motivation for our morning workouts is that we’re all going to Hawaii in April? Yeah.

So after the gym this morning, hubby and I had a nice breakfast of broccoli, chicken and cream cheese omelettes. It was pretty much a use whatever we could find in the fridge meal.

At lunchtime, we picked up my mother in law from work and had to go straight to Costco to shop for our holiday party this weekend. This means lunch at Costco (dun, dun dun!). Thanks to my morning workout, I was okay with having one Polish sausage and a little diet Pepsi. I am using MyFitnessPal to track calories for now, just to get an idea of what and how much I should be eating. I’m not following any sort of diet or regimen. I’m going for lifelong and sustainable changes. No restrictions. Just eat normal, human-sized portions that are mostly healthy and make some better choices.

Costco during the holidays is a maze of sweet, chocolatey temptations. I reeeeally wanted a box of chocolate peppermint bark. Hubby ended up getting a large box of our favorite Christmas time chocolates: Ferraro Rocher. Ugh! I am determined to limit myself to 3 chocolates a day, which might be normal for a regular person, but for me requires some discipline.

For dinner, my mother in law had bought a pizza from Costco and since I am trying to make better choices, I grilled up some pork chops, threw some frozen fajita veggie mix into the microwave and topped it with a fried egg. This is what hubby and I had for dinner instead of the pizza. Yay! Good choices! I could have had the pizza, but probably only one slice and since I’d already indulged in a Costco sausage and 3 Ferarro Rocher chocolates today, I knew I had to avoid the pizza.

The problem comes at night, when I my favorite thing to do is snack and watch movies/shows/YouTube videos. Hubby and I went out after dinner and when we came back, hubby got some leftover pizza. TEMPTAAAAATION! Probably the first in this journey, but I think I’m going to make it! Thankfully, I have this blog to keep me busy. Soon it’ll be bedtime and then I can say Day 2 was a success!

Okay, thanks for distracting me, blog. Sorry for being so long winded.